Why I Use Alternative Medicine

The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects that 10 of the 20 occupations that will grow the fastest in the U.S. by 2020 are related to health care. America’s largest city may be commonly thought of as the world’s financial-services capital, but of New York’s 18 largest private employers, eight are hospitals and four are banks. Employing all those people in the cause of curing the sick is, of course, not anything to be ashamed of. But the drag on our overall economy that comes with taxpayers, employers and consumers spending so much more than is spent in any other country for the same product is unsustainable. Health care is eating away at our economy and our treasury.

The health care industry seems to have the will and the means to keep it that way. According to the Center for Responsive Politics, the pharmaceutical and health-care-product industries, combined with organizations representing doctors, hospitals, nursing homes, health services and HMOs, have spent $5.36 billion since 1998 on lobbying in Washington. That dwarfs the $1.53 billion spent by the defense and aerospace industries and the $1.3 billion spent by oil and gas interests over the same period. That’s right: the health-care-industrial complex spends more than three times what the military-industrial complex spends in Washington. Read the whole Time Magazine article>>

Really, man. Read the whole damn article. You can return here later.

If you search online for any form of alternative medical treatment, say, naturopathic and/or herbal medicine, homeopathy, meridian therapy, acupuncture, or anything not covered by health insurance, you get plenty of “warnings” from the conventional medical establishment such as “dangerous” or “beware of side effects” or “not scientifically proven” or even “quackery.” That’s because it’s all about power and money. Power and money do not want competition. I’m talking pharmaceutical companies, medical supply companies, medical schools, foundations, and associations and anything that’s a part of the multi-billion dollar medical industry (read the article cited above for all the gruesome details). This corporate oligopoly demands exclusive control over the market and over our minds and bodies. Nothing else will do. It’s the politics of poverty and injustice, pure and simple.

I don’t happen to be one of the “lucky” ones who has a job with health insurance attached, nor can I afford private health insurance, nor do I have a job at all, as a matter of fact because when I should have been building my career portfolio I spent on my back with a chronic illness treated by the medical establishment that said I would be in a wheelchair the rest of my life. But I turned to alternative medicine and now I’m free of all the symptoms that the doctors said were untreatable.

Because I have no money I am outside the rat race (I’m no one’s cash cow) that dominates the health and well being of the majority of Americans who would also most likely vote down single payer health care (Single-payer health care? GASP! Isn’t that socialized medicine? Can’t have that. Why, that’s against everything that’s American!). Some of us actually know this entire scam is politically driven with the most powerful lobbyists in Washington that make sure laws are passed in their favor and their “message” is disseminated by commercial advertising and their paid media mouthpieces.

Various alternative medicinesBut I am actually one of the lucky ones, since I live in a city that offers a wide range of health care options, including teaching colleges where you can still get treated for $25-$30 per appointment and get alternative medicines which cost drastically less than pharmaceutical medicines. More and more people are discovering (out of necessity) the benefits of moving away from the depersonalized conveyor-belt-style “services” offered by the corporate medical establishment. Or, at least, more and more people are discovering preventative and “complimentary” medicine.

Personally I am TERRIFIED of laboratories (that maim and torture other creatures in the name of science for humanity) and white coats and bloated reputations that want to run endless tests and prescribe endless drugs and end up cutting you, removing body parts, and so forth. I think that for emergency treatment, the medical establishment is unparalleled in excellence, as well as for traumatic injury or structural/genetic anomalies. But for chronic illness? No. It fails miserably a huge percentage of the time. And the egos alone that must accompany all the years at prestigious medical schools for astronomical tuition are so self-important that I can’t stand to be in the same room with them. There is simply no room for anything that exists outside their narrow range of vision that doesn’t include administering poisons and scalpels.

And yes, I’m aware that alternative medicine has its share of scams and quacks. I’m aware that laws need to be in place to protect people from being harmed by its practitioners. What I can’t justify is how the medical establishment gets away with grand theft and murder. Literally.

The odds of getting really sick in America increase with age and with all the environmental factors that bombard us every day, as well as with the abysmal state of our food industry. Preventative medicine is needed now more than at any time, because if you can’t afford health care, you could easily become a statistic and die a brutal death.  Of course, if you put your trust in the medical establishment, you could also become a statistic and die a brutal death (my aunt did this.) If, however, you become pro-active for your own health and spend enough time reading about the amazing healing power of certain alternative medicines, you will find plenty of testimonials, “scientifically proven” or not. I myself have experienced amazing outcomes (results will vary, of course).

I’m no different than you are. I’m afraid of suffering terrible pain and illness and dying a horrible, impersonal death. But I’ve spent enough time in both hospitals and doctors offices to know that I want nothing to do with those environments if these things happen to me, that actually made me sicker than I was before I began to take their drugs and therapies. Do I have a bone to pick here? You bet I do. I’m probably alone here, but I say it’s time to cure the abominable illness called “the Western medical establishment.”

Leave a Reply

